We want to demonstrate our commitment to your privacy. In support of the changes to the EU data protection law, we’ve updated our privacy notice effective May 25, 2018.

Workshops for faculty and doctoral students, co-sponsored by the Stigler Center and the Corporations and Society Initiative (CASI) at Stanford GSB



Upcoming Workshops



Please check back soon for the Fall 2021 workshop schedule.


Past Workshops



Wednesday, May 12, 2021


John Mikler (University of Sydney) on "The Political Power of Global Corporations"

Background readings can be found here and here.

Time: 3pm - 4pm PT  |  5pm - 6pm CT



Wednesday, April 14, 2021


Nate Persily (Stanford Law School) on "Can Democracy Survive the Internet?"

A background reading is here.

Time: 3pm - 4pm PT  |  5pm - 6pm CT


Wednesday, March 17, 2021


Yuen Yuen Ang on "Unbundling Corruption: Why It Matters and How To Do It"

Yuen Yuen Ang is an Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Michigan and author most recently of China's Gilded Age: The Paradox of Economic Boom and Vast Corruption.

A short background reading is here.

Time: 11am - 12pm PT  |  1pm - 2pm CT


Wednesday, January 13, 2021


Nikhil Pahwanet neutrality activist and founder of MediaNama, on "India and the Internet"

The discussion will focus on Internet governance and how digitisation is transforming India's digital ecosystem. Short background readings are here and here.

Time: 9am - 10am PT  |  11am - 12pm CT


Wednesday, October 21, 2020


Dani Rodrik of Harvard Kennedy School on “Reimagining Trade”

A short background reading is here.

Time: 10am - 11am PT  |  12pm - 1pm CT


Wednesday, November 11, 2020


David Barboza, founder of The Wire China on “China and the Fate of the World's Biggest IPO”

The Wire China is a new media company focused on China, available here, and also  through the University of Chicago and Stanford libraries.

Time: 3pm - 4pm PT  |  5pm - 6pm CT




*Note: the workshops are by invitation only and limited to faculty and doctoral students. If you are interested in attending and are a faculty member or doctoral student, please submit a request to receive the Zoom Workshop link via e-mail.*