Faculty & Research

Finance Lunch Seminar

Organizer

For information concerning the Finance Lunch, please contact Jennifer Williams at 773.702.5530.

Most Wednesday seminars are held 12–1 p.m. in Harper Center room 02 (unless marked differently below).

When possible, links to the workshop papers are posted to this page for printing. Occasionally, speakers opt not to circulate their papers. Therefore, the link will be unavailable.

We have been closely monitoring the evolving situation with the coronavirus (COVID-19), and we have decided in accordance with University guidance and for the safety of our community to hold the finance lunch seminar through an online video conference only. We will send out the link in the email announcements.

 

Summer 2020

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Wednesday, Jun 17 12–1 p.m. Prosocial Corporate Governance Luigi Zingales Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Jun 24 12–1 p.m.

Initial Impacts of the Pandemic on Consumer Behavior: Evidence from Linked Income, Spending, and Savings Data

US Unemployment Insurance Replacement Rates During the Pandemic

Pascal Noel Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Jul 1 12–1 p.m. NO SEMINAR  
Wednesday, Jul 8 NO SEMINAR
Wednesday, Jul 15 NO SEMINAR
Wednesday,Jul 22 NO SEMINAR

Wednesday, Jul 29 12–1 p.m. Treasury Inconvenience Yields During the COVID-19 Crisis Zhiguo He and 
Stefan Nagel
Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Aug 5 12–1 p.m. Kill Zone Luigi Zingales and Raghuram Rajan Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Aug 12 12–1 p.m. Discrimination, Managers, and Firm Performance: Evidence from “Aryanizations” in Nazi Germany Kilian Huber Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Aug 19 12–1 p.m. TBD Constantine Yannelis Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Aug 26 12–1 p.m. TBD Alex Chinco Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Sep 2 12–1 p.m. Fifty Shades of QE: Comparing Findings of Central Bankers and Academics Elisabeth Kempf Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Sep 9 12–1 p.m. TBD Christian Leuz Chicago Booth

 

Spring 2020

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Wednesday, Apr 1 Noon–1:00 p.m. Labor Reactions to Credit Deterioration: Evidence from LinkedIn Activity Jessica Jeffers Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Apr 8 Noon–1:00 p.m. Search Frictions and Idiosyncratic Price Dispersion in the US Housing Market Anthony Zhang Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Apr 15 Noon–1:00 p.m.
Necessary Evidence For A Risk Factor’s Relevance Samuel Hartzmark Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Apr 22 Noon–1:00 p.m. Indebted Demand Amir Sufi Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Apr 29 Noon–1:00 p.m. COVID-19 Fatality Rate Luigi Zingales Chicago Booth
Wednesday, May 6 Noon–1:00 p.m. NO SEMINAR
Wednesday, May 13 Noon–1:00 p.m. NO SEMINAR
Wednesday, May 20 Noon–1:00 p.m. Commonality in Credit Spread Changes: Dealer Inventory and Intermediary Distress Zhiguo He Chicago Booth
Wednesday, May 27 Noon–1:00 p.m. NO SEMINAR
Wednesday, Jun 3 Noon–1:00 p.m. Quantifying the High-Frequency Trading "Arms Race": A Simple New Methodology and Estimates Eric Budish Chicago Booth
Wednesday, Jun 10 Noon–1:00 p.m. Expectations and Bank Lending Yueran Ma Chicago Booth