Faculty and invited speakers present current econometrics and statistics research, with particular emphasis on methods and applications relating to business and economic problems. Meetings are open to all interested faculty and MBA and PhD students.

The workshop will be held in-person (in HC 3B), with no virtual options. Please contact Jennifer Marschand or Megan Jennings Quist to be added to the listserv for weekly updates.

When possible, links to the workshop papers are posted to this page for printing. Occasionally, speakers opt not to circulate their papers. Therefore, the link will be unavailable.

Autumn 2022

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Thursday, September 29, 2022 1:20 p.m. CT  Harper 3B Breaking the Winner’s Curse in Mendelian Randomization: Rerandomized Inverse Variance Weighted Estimator Xinwei Ma
University of California San Diego
Thursday, October 6, 2022 1:20 p.m. CT Harper 3B TBD  Kirill Ponomarev
University of Chicago
Thursday, October 13, 2022 1:20 p.m. CT Harper 3B

Distributed Computational Methods for Healthcare Access Modeling

Papers available HERE and HERE

Nicoleta Serban
Georgia Tech
Thursday, October 20, 2022 1:20 p.m. CT  Harper 3B TBD  Raffaella Giacomini
University College London
Thursday, October 27, 2022 1:20 p.m. CT Harper 3B The Sketched Wasserstein Distance for mixture distributions Florentina Bunea
Cornell University 
Thursday, November 3, 2022 1:20 p.m. CT Harper 3B TBD
Annie Liang
Northwestern University
Thursday, November 10, 2022 1:20 p.m. CT Harper 3B

High Dimensional Forests: Estimation and Inference

Papers available HERE and HERE

Yingying Fan
University of Southern California
Thursday, November 17, 2022 1:20 p.m. CT Harper 3B TBD
Denis Chetverikov
UCLA
Thursday, December 1, 2022 1:20 p.m. CT Harper 3B TBD Daniel Kowal
Rice University
Thursday, December 8, 2022 1:20 p.m. CT Harper 3B TBD

Sameer Deshpande

University of Wisconsin