We want to demonstrate our commitment to your privacy. In support of the changes to the EU data protection law, we’ve updated our privacy notice effective May 25, 2018.

In this workshop, faculty, PhD students, and outside speakers present their latest marketing research and marketing research papers.

Please contact workshop administrator Liberty Stouffer if you would like to be added to the listserv for weekly updates.

When possible, links to the workshop papers are posted to this page for printing. Occasionally, speakers opt not to circulate their papers. Therefore, the link will be unavailable.

We have been closely monitoring the evolving situation with COVID-19 and we have decided, in accordance with university guidance and for the safety of our community, to hold the marketing workshop through an online video conference only. We will send out the link in the email announcements.

Spring 2021

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Tuesday, March 30
10:40 a.m. - 12:20 p.m.
Zoom Meeting Space
TBD
PhD Student Presentations
Chicago Booth
Tuesday, April 6 10:40 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.  Zoom Meeting Space How Recommendation System Feedback Loops Disproportionately Hurt Users with Minority Preferences
Allison Chaney Duke
Tuesday, April 13 10:40 a.m. - 12:00 p.m Zoom Meeting Space Patience Decreases With Age for the Poor But Not for the Rich: An International Comparison  Daniel Read  Warwick
 Tuesday, April 20      NO WORKSHOP     
Tuesday, April 27 10:40 a.m. - 12:00 p.m Zoom Meeting Space Algorithmic Pricing and Competition: Empirical Evidence from the German Retail Gasoline Market Daniel Ershov Tolouse
Tuesday, May 4 10:10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.  Zoom Meeting Space Days of the Week Effect in Temporal Duration Perceptions Tatiana Sokolova Tilburg University 
Tuesday, May 11 10:40 a.m. - 12:00 p.m Zoom Meeting Space
Network Formation and Bargaining in Vertical Markets:  The Case of Narrow Networks in Health Insurance Soheil Ghili Yale
Tuesday, May 18 10:40 a.m. - 12:00 p.m Zoom Meeting Space  TBD Susann Fiedler Max Plank Institute
Tuesday, May 25 10:40 a.m. - 12:00 p.m Zoom Meeting Space
 TBD Jason Roos Erasmus
Tuesday, June 1 10:40 a.m. - 12:00 p.m Zoom Meeting Space
 TBD Stefano Puntoni Erasmus
           

Winter 2021

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Tuesday, January 19 10:40 a.m.–12 p.m. Zoom Meeting Space  Place-Making or Consumer-Making: The Role of the Neighborhood in Shaping Consumption Patterns
Kristina Brecko Rochester
Tuesday, January 26 10:40 a.m.–12 p.m. Zoom Meeting Space  A simple self-reflection intervention boosts the detection of targeted advertising
Stefan Herzog Max Planck Institute
Tuesday, February 2 10:40 a.m.–12 p.m.  Zoom Meeting Space  Measuring Network Effects Using A Digital Platform 
 Chiara Farronato HBS
Tuesday, February 9 10:40 a.m.–12 p.m. Zoom Meeting Space  Understanding Managers' Tradeoffs between Exploration and Exploitation
Alina Ferecatu Erasmus
Tuesday, February 16 10:40 a.m.–12 p.m. Zoom Meeting Space 
Experts and Financial Ties: Evidence from FDA Advisory Committees
Fanny Camara USC
Tuesday, February 23 10:40 a.m.–12 p.m. Zoom Meeting Space  Damned Either Way:  Judgements of Hypocrisy in Consumer Behavior Jonathan Berman London Business School
Tuesday, March 2 10:40 a.m - 12 p.m. Zoom Meeting Space 
The Long Tail Effect of Personalized Rankings
Ilya Morozov Northwestern 
Tuesday, Mar 9 10:10 a.m.–11:30am Zoom Meeting Space 
TBD Daniel Schwartz   Universidad de Chile 
           

Autumn 2020

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Tuesday, September 22 10:40 a.m.–12 p.m. Zoom Meeting Space  How Social Norms and Menus Affect Choice:  Evidence from Tipping Kwabena Donkor Stanford
Tuesday, September 29 10:40 a.m.–12 p.m. Zoom Meeting Space  The Impact of Payment Frequency on Subjective Wealth Perceptions and Discretionary Spending
Wendy De La Rosa Stanford 
Tuesday, Oct. 6  10:40 a.m.–12 p.m.  Zoom Meeting Space 

How Categorization Shapes the Probability Weighting Function


 Dan Schley  Erasmus
Tuesday, Oct. 13  10:40 a.m.–12 p.m.  Zoom Meeting Space  Psychological Ownership of Money:  Evidence from the Lab and Field  Stephanie Tully  Stanford
Tuesday, Oct. 27  10:40 a.m.–12 p.m.  Zoom Meeting Space  CANCELLED   Hana Choi  Rochester
Tuesday, November 3  10:40 a.m.–12 p.m.  Zoom Meeting Space  Latent Stratification for Advertising Experiments
 Elea Feit  Drexel
Tuesday, November 10  10:40 a.m.–12 p.m.  Zoom Meeting Space  Price Transparency, Media and Informative Advertising
 Itai Ater  Tel Aviv
Tuesday, November 17  10:10 a.m.–11:30am  Zoom Meeting Space  Choosing Without Knowing: Information Processing in Uncertain Decisions
 Uma Karmarkar  U C San Diego 
Tuesday, December 1  10:40 a.m.–12 p.m.  Zoom Meeting Space  False Discovery in A/B Testing
 Ron Berman  Wharton