Faculty & Research

Accounting Research

Organizers

2019-20 Accounting Workshop organizers: Rimmy Tomy and Jonathan Bonham. If you have any questions about the schedule, please email Gen Hensley or phone her at 773.702.7460.

When possible, links to the workshop papers are posted to this page for printing. Occasionally, speakers opt not to circulate their papers. Therefore, the link will be unavailable.

Autumn 2019

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Thursday, Sept 19 1:15 p.m.–2:45 p.m. HC-C07
Improving Information Processing Ability through Education: Evidence from Investment Conferences Johanna Shin Chicago Booth
Monday, Sept 23
11:45 a.m.–1:15 p.m. HC-C06 Assessing the Strength and Weakness in Human Information Processing: A Machine Learning Approach Miao Liu Chicago Booth
Thursday, Sept 26
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 Spillover Effects of Auditing: Evidence from Data Breaches Lisa Yao Liu Chicago Booth
Monday, Sept. 30  11:45 a.m.–1:15 p.m. HC-C06  The Real Effect of Non-GAAP Reporting Charlie McClure Chicago Booth
Thursday, Oct 3
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
Uniform Deposit Pricing and Bank Mergers Joao Granja Chicago Booth
Thursday, Oct 10
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 Foreign investment of US multinationals: the effect of tax policy and agency conflicts
Brent Glover Carnegie Mellon University
Thursday, Oct 17 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 The Long Arm of the U.S. Tax Law: Participation Rates and Costs related to Automatic Information Sharing
Brady Williams University of Texas, Austin
Thursday, Oct 24 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 

Testing the Effectiveness of Consumer Financial Disclosure: Experimental Evidence from Savings Accounts

Christopher Palmer MIT
Thursday, Oct 31 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 Firm-level Political Risk and Credit Markets
Valeri Nikolaev Chicago Booth
Thursday, Nov 7 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
No Workshop: JAE Conference    
Thursday, Nov 14
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
Corporate Taxes and Retail Prices
Constantine Yannelis Chicago Booth
Thursday, Nov 21 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06  Supranational Supervision Rainer Haselmann

Goethe University Frankfurt

Thursday, Nov 28
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 
No Workshop: Thanksgiving Holiday    
Thursday, Dec 5
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
The Impact of Open Data on Public Procurement Delphine Samuels MIT
Thursday, Dec 12  1:20–2:50 p.m.  HC-C06
No Workshop—Exam Week
   

Winter 2020

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Thursday, Jan 9
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
Recruiting    
Monday, Jan 13
11:45 a.m.–1:15 p.m. HC-C06

Recruiting

   
Thursday, Jan 16
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 Recruiting    
Thursday, Jan 23
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
Recruiting    
Thursday, Jan 30
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
Recruiting    
Thursday, Feb 6
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 Recruiting    
Thursday, Feb 13
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
Recruiting    
Thursday, Feb 20
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 No Workshop—Utah Winter Accounting Ski Conference
   
Thursday, Feb 27 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
TBD Richard Crowley Singapore Management University
Thursday, Mar 5
1:20-2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
TBD Gaoqing Zhang University of Minnesota
Thursday, Mar 12
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
TBD Melissa Martin University of Illinois, Chicago
Thursday, Mar 19
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
No Workshop—Exam Week    
Thursday, Mar 26
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
No Workshop—Spring Break
   

Spring 2020

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Thursday, Apr 2
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
TBD Eric Floyd UCSD
Thursday, Apr 9
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 TBD Suhas Sridharan Emory University
Thursday, Apr 16
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 TBD Zeqiong Huang Yale 
Thursday, Apr 23
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
TBD Austin Sudbury Carnegie Mellon University
Thursday, Apr 30
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
No Workshop—JAR Conference 
   
Thursday, May 7
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
TBD Ahmed Tahoun London Business School
Thursday, May 14
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
TBD Davide Cianciaruso HEC Paris
Thursday, May 21
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 TBD Siko Sikochi Harvard 
Thursday, May 28
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 No Workshop—EAA Conference (Bucharest, Romania)

Thursday, June 4
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 TBD  Kevin Markle  University of Iowa
Thursday, June 11


No Workshop—Exam Week