Faculty & Research

Accounting Research

Organizers

2019-20 Accounting Workshop organizers: Rimmy Tomy and Jonathan Bonham. If you have any questions about the schedule, please email Gen Hensley or phone her at 773.702.7460.

When possible, links to the workshop papers are posted to this page for printing. Occasionally, speakers opt not to circulate their papers. Therefore, the link will be unavailable.

We have been closely monitoring the evolving situation with the coronavirus (COVID-19) and have decided, in accordance with University guidance and for the safety of our community, to hold the Spring quarter accounting workshops via Zoom. We will email the link for each seminar when it is available.  Presenters who have opted out of the online video option will be rescheduled.  

Autumn 2019

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Thursday, Sept 19 1:15 p.m.–2:45 p.m. HC-C07
Improving Information Processing Ability through Education: Evidence from Investment Conferences Johanna Shin Chicago Booth
Monday, Sept 23
11:45 a.m.–1:15 p.m. HC-C06 Assessing the Strength and Weakness in Human Information Processing: A Machine Learning Approach Miao Liu Chicago Booth
Thursday, Sept 26
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 Do Auditors Help Prevent Data Breaches? Lisa Yao Liu Chicago Booth
Monday, Sept. 30  11:45 a.m.–1:15 p.m. HC-C06  The Real Effect of Non-GAAP Reporting Charlie McClure Chicago Booth
Thursday, Oct 3
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
Uniform Deposit Pricing and Bank Mergers Joao Granja Chicago Booth
Thursday, Oct 10
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 Foreign investment of US multinationals: the effect of tax policy and agency conflicts
Brent Glover Carnegie Mellon University
Thursday, Oct 17 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 The Long Arm of the U.S. Tax Law: Participation Rates and Costs related to Automatic Information Sharing
Brady Williams University of Texas, Austin
Thursday, Oct 24 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 

Testing the Effectiveness of Consumer Financial Disclosure: Experimental Evidence from Savings Accounts

Christopher Palmer MIT
Thursday, Oct 31 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 Firm-level Political Risk and Credit Markets
Valeri Nikolaev Chicago Booth
Thursday, Nov 7 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
No Workshop: JAE Conference    
Thursday, Nov 14
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
Corporate Taxes and Retail Prices
Constantine Yannelis Chicago Booth
Thursday, Nov 21 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06  Supranational Supervision Rainer Haselmann

Goethe University Frankfurt

Thursday, Nov 28
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 
No Workshop: Thanksgiving Holiday    
Thursday, Dec 5
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
The Impact of Open Data on Public Procurement Delphine Samuels MIT
Thursday, Dec 12  1:20–2:50 p.m.  HC-C06
No Workshop—Exam Week
   

Winter 2020

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Thursday, Jan 9
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
No Workshop    
Monday, Jan 13
11:45 a.m.–1:15 p.m. HC-C06

How Much Does Imprecision in Accounting Measurement Enhance Value?  

Ying Liang CUNY Baruch
Thursday, Jan 16
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 Appraisal Risk and Corporate Disclosure During Mergers and Acquisitions Christopher Stewart University of Melbourne
Thursday, Jan 23
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
The Effect of Financial Reporting on Strategic Investments: Evidence from Purchase Obligations Suzie Noh MIT
Monday, Jan 27 11:45 a.m.–1:15 p.m. HC-C06 SEC Regulations and Firms Xi Wu New York University
Thursday, Jan 30
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
Peer Review Mandates and CPA Entrepreneurship Felix Vetter London School of Economics
Monday, Feb. 3 11:45 a.m.–1:15 p.m. HC-C06 Soft Risk Disclosure with Feedback Effect
Yufei Lin Duke University
Thursday, Feb 6
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 Accounting Information and Contracting Dynamics Seung Lee Rice University
Thursday, Feb 13
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
Formalizing the Informal: Adopting a Formal Culture-fit Measurement System in the Employee Selection Process Wei Cai Harvard Business School
Thursday, Feb 20
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 No Workshop—Utah Winter Accounting Ski Conference
   
Thursday, Feb 27 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
Executive Tweets Richard Crowley Singapore Management University
Thursday, Mar 5
1:20-2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
No Workshop

Thursday, Mar 12
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
The dynamic role of earnings and returns in executive contracting Melissa Martin University of Illinois, Chicago
Thursday, Mar 19
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
No Workshop—Exam Week    
Thursday, Mar 26
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
No Workshop—Spring Break
   

Spring 2020

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Thursday, Apr 2
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06

   
Thursday, Apr 9
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
   
Thursday, Apr 16
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
   
Thursday, Apr 23
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06

   
Thursday, Apr 30
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06

   
Thursday, May 7
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06

   
Thursday, May 14
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
TBD (Via Zoom)  Zeqiong Huang  Yale
Thursday, May 21
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
   
Thursday, May 28
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06


Thursday, June 4
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 TBD (Via Zoom) Kevin Markle University of Iowa
Thursday, June 11
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
The Green Bonding Hypothesis: Can green bonds enhance the credibility of environmental commitments? (Brownbag) Shirley Lu Chicago Booth