In this workshop, the discussions cover accounting research and accounting research papers dealing with current topics in this field, and are prepared for the workshop by faculty, students, and invited guests. Meetings are open to all interested faculty members, as well as to MBA and PhD students.

The 2021–22 Accounting Research Workshop organizers are Booth professors Joao Granja and Delphine Samuels. If you have any questions about the schedule, please email Gen Hensley or call her at 773.702.7460.

When possible, links to the workshop papers are posted to this page for printing. Occasionally, speakers opt not to circulate their papers. Therefore, the link will be unavailable.

In accordance with university guidance, we will be holding our workshops in dual modality.  We will email the link for each seminar when it is available.  

Autumn 2021

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Thursday, Sept 23 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 No Workshop (Lauren Vollon W/S rescheduled to 10/18 in C03 from 11:45 a.m. -1:15 p.m.)               Lauren Vollon Chicago Booth
Thursday, Sept 30 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
  Gurpal Sran Chicago Booth

Thursday, Oct 7

1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
Structural state dependence of voluntary disclosure decisions Chongho Kim NYU
Thursday, Oct 14 1:20–2:50 p.m.   No Workshop: JAE Conference (10/15-16)    
Thursday, Oct 21 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06

Andrew Sutherland MIT
Thursday, Oct 28 1:20–2:50 p.m.
No Workshop: Registered Reports Conference   (10/28-29)    
Thursday, Nov 4 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
Effects of Capital Requirements on Banks' Balance Sheets: Causal Evidence from Qualifying Trust-Preferred Securities Pietro Bonaldi CMU
Thursday, Nov 11
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
The Asset Pricing and Real Implications of Relationship Disclosure
Xu Jiang Duke University
Thursday, Nov 18 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 Crowdfunding Activities and Disclosures amid Economic Volatility  Nerissa Brown University of Illinois
Thursday, Nov 25
1:20–2:50 p.m.

No Workshop: Thanksgiving Holiday    
Thursday, Dec 2
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
  Beatrice Michaeli UCLA
Thursday, Dec 9 1:20–2:50 p.m. 
No Workshop: Winter Break     

Winter 2022

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Thursday, Jan 6
1:20–2:50 p.m. Remote Recruiting Carol Seregni University of Mannheim
Monday, Jan 10 11:45-1:15 p.m.

Remote

Recruiting
Wilbur Chen Harvard University
Thursday, Jan 13
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06 No Workshop    
Thursday, Jan 20
1:20–2:50 p.m.
Remote Recruiting Shawn Shi Stanford University
Thursday, Jan 27
1:20–2:50 p.m.
Remote
Recruiting Austin Moss University of Iowa
Thursday, Feb 3
1:20–2:50 p.m. Remote
Recruiting Jung Min Kim

University of Pennsylvania

Thursday, Feb 10
1:20–2:50 p.m. Remote
Recruiting  Mingyue Zhang University of Toronto
Thursday, Feb 17
1:20–2:50 p.m.
Remote
Recruiting Tavish Tejas Rutgers University
Thursday, Feb 24 1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06 TBD
Matthias Breuer Columbia University
Thursday, Mar 3
1:20-2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
TBD Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan UMD
Thursday, Mar 10
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
TBD (Internal Workshop) Delphine Samuels University of Chicago 
Thursday, Mar 17
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
No Workshop—Exam Week 
   
Thursday, Mar 24  1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
No Workshop—Spring Break    

Spring 2022

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Thursday, Mar 31
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06

Rebecca Files UT Dallas
Thursday, Apr 7
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
Chloe Xie  MIT
Thursday, Apr 14
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
Sugata Roychowdhury Northwestern
Thursday, Apr 21
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
  Christian Laux WU, Vienna
Thursday, Apr 28
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06
  Ed deHaan University of Washington
Thursday, May 5
1:20–2:50 p.m.

No Workshop: JAR Conference (5/6-7)    
Thursday, May 12
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06
  Ahmed Tahoun LBS
Thursday, May 19
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06   Urooj Khan University of Texas
Thursday, May 26
1:20–2:50 p.m. HC-C06   Sara Toynbee University of Texas
Thursday, June 2
1:20–2:50 p.m.
HC-C06   Andrea Down University of Toronto
Thursday, June 9
1:20–2:50 p.m.

No Workshop: Exam Week