Faculty & Research

Workshop in Macro/International Economics

Please contact Workshop Administrator Sarah Griebel to be added to the listserv for weekly updates.

When possible, links to the workshop papers are posted to this page for printing. Occasionally, speakers choose not to circulate their papers. In such cases, the link will be unavailable.

Winter 2020

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Wednesday, Jan 8  10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. HC-C10 The Geography of Unemployment Adrien Bilal  Princeton
Monday, Jan 13 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. HC-C10 Networks, Phillips Curves, and Monetary Policy Elisa Rubbo  Harvard
Thursday, Jan 16 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. HC-C10 Consumption with Imperfect Perception of Wealth Chen Lian  MIT
Friday, Jan 17 10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.  HC-C09 The Missing Intercept: A Demand Equivalence Approach Christian Wolf  Princeton
Monday, Jan 27 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. HC-C10 Public Employee Pensions and Municipal Insolvency Sean Myers  Stanford
Wednesday, Jan 29 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. HC-C06 The Effects of Multinationals on Workers: Evidence from Costa Rica Jose Vasquez  UC Berkeley
Thursday, Jan 30 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. HC-C10

The Effects of Joining Multinational Supply Chains: New Evidence from Firm-to-Firm Linkages

Isabela Manelici  UC Berkeley
Monday, Feb 3 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. HC-C10 Downward Rigidity in the Wage for New Hires Jonathon Hazell  MIT

 

Winter/Spring 2020

Date Time Location Topic Speaker Institution
Monday, Feb 17 11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. HC-C10 Monetary Policy for the Next Recession Anil Kashyap  UChicago Booth 
Monday, Feb 24 11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. HC-C10 TBA TBA
Monday, Mar 2 11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. HC-C10 TBA TBA
Monday, Mar 9 11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. HC-C10 The Industrial Revolution in Services Chang-Tai Hsieh  UChicago Booth 
Monday, Mar 16 11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. HC-C10 TBA Michael Webber UChicago Booth 
Monday, Mar 23 Spring Break

Monday, Mar 30 11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. HC-C10

TBA

Leena Rudanko  Philadelphia Fed 
Monday, Apr 6 11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. HC-C10 TBA
Jordi Gali CREi 
Monday, Apr 13 11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. HC-C10
A Granular Framework for Assessing the Incidence of Local Economic Shocks
Jonathan Dingel 
UChicago Booth 
Monday, Apr 20 11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. HC-C10
TBA Andres Rodriguez-Clare
UC Berkeley 
Monday, Apr 27
11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. HC-C10
Nonparametric Gravity: Measuring the Macroeconomic Implications of Firm Heterogeneity
Rodrigo Adão
UChicago Booth 
Monday, May 4
11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
HC-C10
Risk Premium Shocks Can Cause Inefficient Recessions
Sebastian Di Tella
Stanford GSB
Monday, May 11
11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
HC-C10
TBA
Fernando Alvarez
UChicago Economics
Monday, May 18
11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
HC-C10
TBA
Maryam Farboodi
MIT Sloan
Monday, May 25


Memorial Day    
Monday, Jun 1
11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
HC-C10
TBA
Pooya Molavi
BFI Fellow
Monday, Jun 8
11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
HC-C10
TBA
Rohan Kekre
UChicago Booth