Coronavirus Updates

In this workshop, advanced topics in finance are discussed in detail and finance research topics are presented. Faculty from other universities are invited to speak. Workshop papers will be posted below when available. Occassionally speakers will choose not to circulate their papers. In such cases, the link will be unavailable.

For information or to be added to the mailing list for weekly updates, email Jennifer Williams.   

Spring 2024

Date Time Room Topic Speaker Institution
Tues, Mar 19 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03  Fund Flows and Income Risk of Fund Managers Leonid Kogan MIT
Tues, Mar 26 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03  Machines Could Not Compete with Chinese Labor: Evidence from U.S. Firms’ Innovation Elena Simintzi UNC
Tues, Apr 2 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03  Dealers as Shock Conduits Anil Kashyap Chicago Booth
Tues, Apr 9 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03  CANCELLED    
Tues, Apr 16 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03  The Zero-Beta Interest Rate Benjamin Hébert Stanford
Tues, Apr 23 1:20–2:50 p.m.
 C03  Inflation and Treasury Convenience Carolin Pflueger Chicago Booth
Tues, Apr 30 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03  Anatomy of a Run: The Terra Luna Crash Antoinette Schoar MIT
Tues, May 7 1:20–2:50 p.m.
 C03  Innovation Networks and R&D Allocation Ernest Liu Princeton
Tues, May 14 1:20–2:50 p.m.
 C03  Better than Human? Experiments with AI Debt Collectors James Choi Yale
Tues, May 21 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03  Funding Horizons, Interest Rates, and Growth Nobuhiro Kiyotaki Princeton and MIT

Winter 2024

Date Time Room Topic Speaker Institution
Tues, Jan 9 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 Insurance versus Moral Hazard in Income-Contingent Student Loan Repayment Tim de Silva MIT
Tues, Jan 16 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 Institutional Investors, Securities Lending, and Short-Selling Constraints Taisiya Sikorskaya LBS
Tues, Jan 23 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 A General Theory of Holdouts Xiaobo Yu Columbia
Tues, Jan 30 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 Instant Payment Systems and Competition for Deposits Sergey Sarkisyan Wharton
Tues, Feb 6 1:20–2:50 p.m.   NO WORKSHOP    

Autumn 2023

Date Time Room Topic Speaker Institution
Wed, Sep 20 1:20–2:50 p.m.
 C03 Contractual Lock-In? Mortgage Prepayment Penalties and Mobility
Michael Varley Joint PhD Student
Tues, Sep 26 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 Unraveling Information Sharing in Consumer Credit Markets
Benedict Guttman-Kenney
Econ PhD Student
Tues, Oct 3 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 Foreign Influence in US Politics
Marco Grotteria LBS
Tues, Oct 10 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 Financing the Adoption of Clean Technology Adriano Rampini Duke
Tues, Oct 17 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 Leaving Them Hanging: Student Loan Forbearance, Distressed Borrowers, and Their Lenders Heather Tookes Yale
Tues, Oct 24 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 Will Central Bank Currency Disintermediate Banks? Toni Whited University of Michigan
Tues, Oct 31 1:20–2:50 p.m.
 C03 Asset Pricing and Risk Sharing Implications of Alternative Pension Plan Systems
Francisco Gomes LBS
Tues, Nov 7 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 A Bittersweet Jubilee: Evidence on the Effects of Randomized Medical Debt Relief Ray Kluender HBS
Tues, Nov 14 1:20–2:50 p.m.
 C03 Common Risk Factors in the Returns on Stocks, Bonds (and Options), Redux
Nikolai Roussanov Wharton
Tues, Nov 21 1:20–2:50 p.m.
 C03 NO WORKSHOP    
Tues, Nov 28 1:20–2:50 p.m.
 C03 Liquidity Fragmentation on Decentralized Exchanges
Christine Parlour UC Berkeley
Tues. Dec 5 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 Managing Resource (Mis)allocation
Xavier Giroud Columbia
Tues. Dec 12 1:20–2:50 p.m.  C03 Biodiversity Risk Theresa Kuchler NYU Stern