In this workshop, advanced topics in finance are discussed in detail and finance research topics are presented. Faculty from other universities are invited to speak at the seminar.

In accordance with the university guidance, and out of concern for our community and guest speakers, the workshop will be held in dual-modality with both in-person and virtual options. 

For information concerning the Finance Workshop, please contact email Jennifer Williams or call her at 773.702.5530. When possible, links to the workshop papers are posted to this page for printing. Occasionally, speakers opt not to circulate their papers. Therefore, the link will be unavailable.  

Winter 2022

Date Time Room Topic Speaker Institution

Tues, Feb 1

1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 In Safe Hands: The Financial and Real Impact of Investor Composition Over the Credit Cycle
Antonio Coppola Harvard
Tues, Feb 8 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Optimal Policy for Behavioral Financial Crises
Paul Fontanier Harvard
Tues, Feb 15 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Partial Equilibrium Thinking, Extrapolation, and Bubbles
Francesca Bastianello Harvard
Tues, Feb 22 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 The Hidden Cost of Corporate Bond ETFs
Christopher Reilly Boston College

Fall 2021

Date Time Room Topic Speaker Institution

Thur, Sep 23     

1:20–2:50 p.m. C04 Heterogeneous Technology Adoption: Knowledge Sharing, Learning, and Technological Change in Energy N Vera Chau Finance PhD Student
Tues, Sep 28 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Advantages of Political Diversity: Evidence from Mutual Fund Managers During COVID-19 Matthew Blair Vorsatz Finance PhD Student
Tues, Oct 5  1:20–2:50 p.m. C03  Labor Market Power and Technological Change in US Manufacturing James Traina Joint PhD Student
Tues, Oct 12 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Propagation and Amplification of Local Productivity Spillovers Holger Mueller NYU
Tues, Oct 19 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Can Monetary Policy Create Fiscal Capacity? Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh Columbia
Tues, Oct 26  1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Manufacturing Risk-free Government Debt Zhengyang Jiang Kellogg
Tues, Nov 2 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Invisible Primes: Fintech Lending with Alternative Data
Marco DiMaggio HBS
Tues, Nov 9 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Competition and Scope in Banking: The Case of Corporate Credit Cards
Claudia Robles Garcia Stanford
Tues, Nov. 16 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Racial Disparities in Access to Small Business Credit: Evidence from the Paycheck Protection Program
Sabrina Howell NYU
Tues, Nov 23     NO WORKSHOP    
Tues, Nov 30 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Collateral Reallocation
Giorgia Piacentino Columbia
Tues, Dec 7 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Segmented Arbitrage
Adi Sunderam HBS
Tues, Dec 14 1:20–2:50 p.m. C03 Prudential Policy with Distorted Beliefs Ansgar Walther Imperial College