Coronavirus Updates

Yiran Fan

The Yiran Fan Memorial Conference

On April 11, 2024, scholars in financial economics gathered to share ongoing research in a series of alumni and student presentations as part of a commemorative event dedicated to our late colleague, Yiran Fan. Faculty announced the Yiran Fan Memorial Fellowship during the 2023 conference and presented the Yiran Fan Memorial Prize to a student awardee in 2024. Conference participants hope to continue to carry the promise of Yiran's contributions forward.

During his time at Booth, Yiran was completing a doctoral degree in Financial Economics and working as a Professional Development Fellow at the Fama-Miller Center for Research in Finance. You can find more details on the life and legacy of Yiran Fan in the Economics Department's remembrance letter and by visiting the Chicago Booth memoriam page.

2024 Yiran Fan Memorial Conference

Thursday, April 11, 2024
Gleacher Center

8:30-9:00 a.m.: Registration (continental breakfast)
*registration is restricted to invitees*
9:00-9:05 a.m.: Welcome

9:05-10:05 a.m.: Presentation 1
Filippo Cavaleri: A Preferred-Habitat Model with a Corporate Sector
Discussant: Aaron Pancost, PhD ’16
10:05-10:15: Break (10 mins)

10:15-11:15 a.m. : Presentation 2
Thomas Bourany: Optimal Energy Policy and the Inequality of Climate Change
Discussant: Michael Barnett, PhD ’19
11:15-11:30: Break (10 mins)

11:30-1:00 p.m..: Lunch and announcement of 2023 Yiran Fan Memorial Fellowship and 2024 Yiran Fan Memorial Prize
Featured Speaker:
Alan Moreira, PhD ’11
1:00-1:15: Break (15 mins)

1:15-2:15 p.m.: Presentation 3
Joanna Harris: The Effect of Environmental Preferences on Investor Responses to ESG Disclosure
Discussant: Marina Niessner, PhD ’13
No Break

2:15-3:15 p.m.: Presentation 4
Manav Chaudhary: Corporate Bond Multipliers: Substitutes Matter
Discussant: Yoshio Nozawa, PhD ’13
3:15-3:30: Break (15 mins)

3:30-4:30 p.m.: Presentation 5
Federico Mainardi
: A Demand-Based Approach to Short-Selling
Discussant: Stefano Pegoraro, PhD ’20
4:30-4:45: Break (15 mins)

4:45-6:00 p.m.: Student Poster Presentations and Catered Reception (Gleacher)

  • Bianca He: Financing Intangibles
  • Xiaoyang Li: Industry Shakeouts after an Innovation Breakthrough
  • Edward Jee: Poverty Traps and Transfers
  • Doga Akar Bilgin: VAR-ifying Predictions: Inferring Implicit Models from Published Forecasts
  • Jingoo Kwon: Risk, Disagreement, and Forecast Dispersion

Yiran Fan Memorial Prize Announcement

The Yiran Fan Memorial Prize is a fellowship established in memory of late UChicago PhD student, Yiran Fan, which includes contributions from Fan’s parents and is awarded to a student in the Joint Program in Financial Economics.

It was established to commemorate Yiran Fan's kind and generous spirit and his devotion to bringing together fellow students, young researchers, and faculty as companions in learning. The prize is award by a student selection committee based on student nominations for the graduate student who made the greatest contribution to establishing and maintaining an open and nurturing learning environment for those with interests in economic dynamics, macroeconomics, or financial economics.

  • The 2023 Yiran Fan Prize awardee was Marco Loseto, a current PhD candidate at the University of Chicago Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics.
  • In 2022, the award was presented to co-awardees, Will Cassidy and Aditya Chaudhry. Both Will Cassidy and Aditya Chaudhry graduated from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business in 2023 with a PhD in Finance. Will is currently an Assistant Professor of Finance at the Washington University in St. Louis, Olin School of Business. Aditya presently serves as the Assistant Professor of Finance at the Fisher College of Business at The Ohio State University.
  • Simon Oh was the first to be offered the award in 2021. Simon Oh is a current PhD candidate in the Joint Program of Financial Economics. He will start as an Assistant Professor in the Finance Division at Columbia Business School in the summer of 2024.

2023 Yiran Fan Memorial Conference