Coronavirus Updates

Five University of Chicago Booth School of Business students have been named 2018 Seibel Scholars in recognition of their academic achievement and leadership, and a sixth student was named a 2018 McGowan Fellow for ethical leadership and academic excellence.

The Seibel Scholars – Darrick Chan, Kathleen Davis, Monica Kalwani, Igo Shkilko, and Yihan Tan – are Chicago Booth second-year MBA students who join an elite group of graduate students from around the world in the fields of business, computer science, bioengineering and energy science. The scholars receive $35,000 each toward their final year of studies.

Chicago Booth’s McGowan Fellow for 2018 is Pedro Amoroso Lima, one of 10 McGowan Fellows nationwide this year. The McGowan fellows are top-ranked, second-year MBA students who have demonstrated a commitment to social responsibility. The award provides full-year tuition for the last year of studies.

The students for both award programs are nominated by the deans of their schools for demonstrating academic excellence, leadership and the ability to play a significant role in addressing global challenges.

The Siebel Foundation, based in Redwood City, Calif., established the Siebel Scholars program in 2000 through grants to 16 universities in the United States, China, France, Italy and Japan. Each year more than 90 graduate students at the top of their class are selected.

The McGowan Fellows program was established in 2010 by the William G. McGowan Charitable Fund, a Chicago-based family foundation. The program aims to provide the resources and guidance to young professionals to become ethical, accountable leaders and role models for generations to come. 

Contact Booth Media Relations

Marielle Sainvilus
Director of Public Relations and Communications
Phone: 773.531.2894

Email Marielle