Alumni

Conversation with Professor Akira Iriye

Chicago Booth Alumni Club of Japan

October 19, 2017: 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Chicago Booth and UChicago alumni and students are cordially invited to special evening with Professor Iriye.

Where

Tokyo American Club
2 Chome-1-2 Azabudai,
Minato-ku
Tokyo 106-0041, Japan

Driving Directions:

Venue directions>>

Event Details

Chicago Boooth, UChicago and the Harvard Club of Japan are pleased to announce a special evening and conversation opportunity with Prof. Akira Iriye who is one of the most influential and greatest living historians on American diplomatic history, with a focus on American-East Asian diplomatic relations. Discussion on developments in U.S./Japan diplomatic relations and what history may teach us about upcoming future geopolitical trends in Asia and the potential U.S. response.

UChicago Alumni Club will hold a brief business meeting from 19:15. We highly encourage your attendance.

Cost

4,000 Yen - members
10,000 Yen - non members

Registration

Register Online

Deadline: 10/19/2017

Speaker Profiles

Prof. Akira Iriye (Speaker)

Prof. Akira Iriye, who is one of the most influential and greatest living historians on American diplomatic history, with a focus on American-East
Asian diplomatic relations.

Professor Iriye became professor of history at the University of Chicago in 1969, serving as the Stein-Freiler Distinguished Service Professor of History from 1984 to 1989. While at UChicago, he also served as Chairman of the History Department. Prof. Iriye was the first Japanese native to become President of the American History Association in 1988.

After UChicago, Prof. Iriye taught at Harvard University until his retirement in 2005. While at Harvard, he served as the Director of the Edwin O. Reischauer Institute on Japanese Studies from 1991 to 1995. In 2005 Prof. Iriye received the Order of the Sacred Treasure, Gold and Silver Star from the Government of Japan for his distinguished contributions.

Questions

Neil Faust, AM '86, MBA'91 

090-7285-6686

Other Information

Masaru Kato - mkato@ChicagoClubofJapan.org
Etsuko Kawabuchi- etsuko1011@gmail.com
Yasuteru Odaka - yodaka1@me.com
Marc Bookman - marc.bookman@collabrary.com
Naveen Ravindran- naveen@aegoninc.com
Masuyo Ando - masuyo.ando@gmail.com