Alumni

Securing a Non-Profit Board Seat

University of Chicago Law School

University of Chicago College

Chicago Booth Alumni Club of New York City

June 22, 2022: 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

9AM PDT | 11AM CDT | 12PM EDT

If you're ready to join a board, but aren't sure how to find the one that's the best fit for you, don't miss this event. 

Where

Online Webinar
New York, New York

Event Details

Sponsored by Booth, the Law School, and the College, this event is a how-to for securing a non-profit board position with an insider's view from U of C alums on what to expect once you do.

We will be joined by Cynthia Remec, Executive Director of BoardAssist, the only no-fee board placement program in New York City. BoardAssist is a non-profit itself, with hundreds of board choices in the arts, the environment, and social justice reform. And it takes a personalized approach to helping you find just the right fit for you. While BoardAssist's opportunities are local, national, and international, most are based in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut.

Cost

No Charge

Registration

Register Online

Deadline: 6/21/2022

Program

12:00 PM-12:40 PM: Moderated discussion and Q&A with Cynthia

12:40 PM-12:55 PM: Six breakout groups led by U of C alums who currently serve on boards

12:55 PM-1:00 PM: Event concludes as breakout groups wrap up

Speaker Profiles

Cindy Machles (Moderator) '82
MBA, Booth

Cynthia Remec (Speaker)
Executive Director, BoardAssist
https://boardassist.org

Peter Nager (Panelist) '83
JD/MBA, University of Chicago

Gurjot Sidhu (Panelist) '93
BA, University of Chicago; MBA, Booth

Sara Toussaint (Panelist) '00
BA, University of Chicago; MBA, NYU

Vera Aronow (Panelist) '76
BA, University of Chicago; Graduate Program, UCLA

Brian Egger (Panelist) '92
MBA, Booth

Richard Freeman (Panelist) '77
MBA, Booth

Questions

Cindy Machles, '82 

917-453-9760