awards and honors

Rajan and Weber Appointed to G30

By Allan Friedman
Published: Summer 2012

Raghuram RajanEric J. Gleacher Distinguished Service Professor of Finance and Charles M. Harper Faculty Fellow, and Axel Webervisiting professor of economics, have been appointed to the Group of Thirty (G30), an international body that examines the impact of financial and economic decisions in the public and private sectors. 

The group also includes Mario Draghi, president of the European Central Bank, Mervyn King, governor of the Bank of England, and other senior participants from public and private sectors and academia. 

Weber“The effectiveness of the G30 depends fundamentally upon the quality and stature of the group’s members, and our new colleagues bring a wealth of experience and professional accomplishment to the group,” said Jacob Frenkel, chairman of the G30 Board of Trustees. Frenkel is also chairman of JPMorgan Chase International.

“The appointment of Raghuram Rajan and Axel Weber to the G30 is further recognition of their stature as leaders in the field,” said dean Sunil Kumar“It also shows that Booth’s faculty influence is growing even stronger in the public debate over key issues affecting the world economy.” (Photo of Rajan by Dan Dry; photo of Weber courtesy of Axel Weber.) 


Cochrane Named Guggenheim Fellow

By Allan Friedman
Published: Summer 2012

CochraneJohn Cochrane, AQR Capital Management Distinguished Service Professor of Finance, has been named a 2012 Guggenheim Fellow by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation of New York. 

He is among 181 scholars, artists, writers, and scientists who received the honor this year. The winners were selected from nearly 3,000 applicants on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise. Cochrane’s monetary economics publications include articles on the relationship between deficits and inflation, the effects of monetary policy, and the fiscal theory of the price level. The Guggenheim Fellowship was awarded for his further work on the fiscal theory.

Cochrane has served as an editor of the Journal of Political Economy and associate editor of several journals, including the Journal of Monetary Economics, the Journal of Business, and the Journal of Economic Dynamics and Control. His recent awards include the TIAA-CREF Institute Paul A. Samuelson Award for his book, Asset Pricing, the Chookazian Endowed Risk Management Prize, and the Faculty Excellence Award for MBA teaching. (Photo by Dan Dry.)


Hofmann Wins Early Career Award

By Kate Ancell
Published: Summer 2012

HofmannWilhelm Hofmannassistant professor of behavioral science, received this year’s 2012 Social Cognition Early Career Award, which recognizes contributions to the study of social cognition by junior scientists. It was presented to him by the International Social Cognition Network.

Hofmann has received several other awards in his burgeoning career, including the 2009 William Stern Award of the German Psychological Society, and the 2010 Distinguished Young Scientist Award (Heinz-Maier-Leibnitz Award) of the German Science Foundation. His work has appeared in numerous psychological journals, including Psychological Science and the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology. His work has also been featured in Scientific American Mind, Discovery News, the New York Times, Financial Times, the Guardian, the Telegraph, and Forbes, as well as many broadcast outlets including ABC, NBC, CBC, and Fox News. Hofmann also serves on the editorial boards of Social Psychological and Personality Science and the European Journal of Personality. (Photo by Dan Dry.) 


Bertrand and Zingales Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

By Allan Friedman
Published: Summer 2012

BertrandZingalesMarianne Bertrand, Chris P. Dialynas Professor of Economics and Richard N. Rosett Faculty Fellow, and Luigi ZingalesRobert C. McCormack Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance and David G. Booth Faculty Fellow, have been elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies and a leading center for independent policy research.

They are among more than 200 leaders in business, science, the humanities, the arts, and other fields to be recognized this year. “Election to the academy is both an honor for extraordinary accomplishment and a call to serve,” academy president Leslie Berlowitz said. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day." (Photo of Bertrand by Beth Rooney; photo of Zingales by Chris Lake.) 


Among Their Peers

Betrand and Zingales join nine other Booth faculty who earlier were elected fellows of the Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Gary Becker, University Professor of Economics and Sociology

Douglas Diamond, Merton H. Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance and Richard N. Rosett Faculty Fellow Eugene Fama, Robert R. McCormick Distinguished Service Professor of Finance

Eugene Fama, Robert R. McCormick Distinguished Service Professor of Finance

Robert Fogel, Charles R. Walgreen Distinguished Service Professor of American Institutions

Reid Hastie, Robert S. Hamada Professor of Behavioral Science

Kevin Murphy, George J. Stigler Distinguished Service Professor of Economics

Raghuram Rajan, Eric J. Gleacher Distinguished Service Professor of Finance and Charles M. Harper Faculty Fellow

Richard Thaler, Ralph and Dorothy Keller Distinguished Service Professor of Behavioral Science and Economics

Robert Vishny, Myron S. Scholes Distinguished Service Professor of Finance


Last Updated 9/27/12