Birge Elected to NAE

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) elected John Birge, Jerry W. and Carol Lee Levin Professor of Operations Management, to its membership in February. Election to the NAE is one of the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice, or education, including significant contributions to engineering literature.

The honor also recognizes researchers involved in the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing and implementing innovative approaches to engineering education,” said the NAE.

Birge is author of the book Introduction to Stochastic Programming (with François Louveaux) and has published more than 70 research papers in leading academic journals. He is the first member of the Chicago Booth faculty to achieve the honor of membership to the NAE.—K.M.

AFA Recognizes Harris

Milton Harris, AM ’73, PhD ’74, Chicago Board of Trade Professor of Finance and Economics, was elected a fellow of the American Finance Association (AFA) earlier this year. Fellows are chosen in recognition of their distinguished contribution to the field of finance.

In announcing the fellowship, the AFA said Harris “has produced path-breaking research in several areas of corporate finance and on the economic theory of information,” and, among many other important contributions, “is particularly recognized for his work on the design of securities, firms, and more generally of organizations.”

His published contributions to the field include work as the author of the book Dynamic Economic Analysis and editor of the Handbook of the Economics of Finance, with George Constantinides, Leo Melamed Professor of Finance, and René Stulz.

Harris is the fifth member of the Chicago Booth faculty to receive the honor since it was first awarded in 2000. In naming Harris a fellow, the AFA also acknowledged that he has “frequently uncovered important new insights stemming from the role of asymmetric information, particularly in settings involving contract design and agency relationships.”—K.M.

Booth Trio Awarded Sloan Research Fellowships

Three faculty members, Veronica Guerrieri, Jesse Shapiro, and Amir Sufi, were named Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellows for 2011. “The scientists and researchers selected for this year’s Sloan Research Fellowships represent the very brightest rising stars of this generation of scholars,” said Paul L. Joskow, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

Guerrieri, associate professor of economics and Neubauer Family Faculty Fellow, is a macroeconomist who specializes in labor and financial markets, search theory, informational frictions, dynamic contracting, and growth theory. She currently teaches PhD and MBA courses in macroeconomics, and is associate editor of Theoretical Economics and a NBER faculty research fellow. Her extensive research work includes “Adverse Selection in Competitive Search Equilibrium,” with Robert Shimer and Randall Wright, published in Econometrica, 2010, and “Inefficient Unemployment Dynamics under Asymmetric Information,” in the Journal of Political Economy, 2008. She received the Excellence Award in Global Economic Affairs in 2010 from the Kiel Institute for the World Economy.

Shapiro, professor of economics, studies the economics of communication and persuasion in industrial organization and political economy. He teaches MBA courses in competitive strategy. Shapiro’s recent research, coauthored with Matthew Gentzkow, professor of economics and a previous Sloan winner, includes “What Drives Media Slant? Evidence from U.S. Daily Newspapers,” published in the journal Econometrica, January 2010.

Sufi, professor of finance, studies the broad areas of financial intermediation, corporate finance, and household finance. Among his many distinctions, he won the Journal of Finance Brattle Group Prize in Corporate Finance and the Review of Financial Studies Young Researcher Prize. His research has been published extensively, in such journals as the American Economic Review and the Journal of Finance, and profiled by the Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and NPR’s Morning Edition.

Awarded annually since 1955, the Sloan fellowships are given to early-career scientists and scholars in recognition of achievement and potential to contribute substantially to their field. Over the past 10 years, a total of nine Sloan winners were on the faculty of a business school at the time of the award, and six of the nine were at Booth. A grant of $50,000 for a two-year period accompanies each award.—K.M.


Last Updated 9/16/11