New Chairs and Distinguished Service Professorships Announced

This spring, Chicago Booth announced three distinguished service professorships and three newly-appointed chair-holders.

John Cochrane is AQR Capital Management Distinguished Service Professor of Finance, Pradeep Chintagunta is Joseph T. and Bernice S. Lewis Distinguished Service Professor of Marketing, and Steven Kaplan is Neubauer Family Distinguished Service Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance. Dennis Carlton is David McDaniel Keller Professor of Economics, and Sunil Kumar is George Pratt Shultz Professor of Operations Management.

Photo of John Cochrane

Cochrane, previously AQR Capital Management Professor of Finance, joined the Booth faculty in 1994. He publishes widely in the areas of finance, fiscal theory and monetary economics, and macroeconomics, among other topics. Cochrane writes about dynamics in stock and bond markets, the volatility of exchange rates, the term structure of interest rates, and the relation between stock prices and business cycles. His book Asset Pricing won the TIAA-CREF Institute Paul A. Samuelson Award. Cochrane also is a recipient of the Chookaszian Endowed Risk Management Prize and the Faculty Excellence Award for MBA teaching. He was president of the American Finance Association in 2010, and is a fellow of the Econometric Society, an adjunct scholar of the CATO institute, and a member of the editorial board of the American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics. In an interview from 2009, Cochrane explains what drives his research: “For me, it’s always been an intellectual appeal, an understanding of how the world works.”


Photo of Pradeep Chintagunta

Chintagunta, who joined the Chicago Booth faculty in 1995, previously was Robert Law Professor of Marketing. His research includes analysis of household purchase behavior, pharmaceutical markets, and technology products. Chintagunta serves on the advisory editorial board of Marketing Science and the Journal of Marketing Research. He is marketing department editor of Management Science and associate editor of Quantitative Marketing and Economics. In addition to being a finalist for the William F. O’Dell Award in 1996 and 2001, Chintagunta is the recipient of the Hillel J. Einhorn Excellence in Teaching Award, and he has been named one of Booth’s top professors by Bloomberg Businessweek.

Photo of Steven Kaplan

Kaplan, a faculty member since 1988, conducts research on issues in private equity and entrepreneurial finance, corporate governance, mergers and acquisitions, and corporate finance. He previously was Neubauer Family Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance. Kaplan has published widely in academic and business journals and garnered awards for a number of his papers, including the Smith Breeden Prize from the Journal of Finance in 1998. He is a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, and associate editor of the Journal of Finance and the Journal of Financial Economics. He is faculty director of the Polsky Center for Entrepreneurship. With his students, he helped start Booth’s business plan competition, the New Venture Challenge, which has spawned more than 65 companies that have raised over $185 million.


Photo of Dennis Carlton

Carlton, previously Katherine Dusak Miller Professor of Economics, joined the Booth faculty in 1984. His research focuses on microeconomics, industrial organization, and antitrust. Over the course of his career, Carlton has published more than 100 articles and two books, including Modern Industrial Organization, one of the leading textbooks in industrial organization. He is also co-editor of the Journal of Law and Economics and serves on the editorial boards of Competition Policy International and the Journal of Competition Law & Economics. Carlton recently served as the deputy assistant attorney general for the Department of Justice antitrust division. Carlton is the recipient of several awards, the most recent being the Robert F. Lanzilotti Prize for the best essay in antitrust economics (2008).

Photo of Suil Kumar

Kumar joined Chicago Booth as dean and professor of operations management in January 2011. Previously Fred H. Merrill Professor of Operations, Information, and Technology at the Stanford University Graduate School of Business, his research includes performance evaluation and control of manufacturing systems, service operations, and communications networks. He has published dozens of scholarly research articles and has served as editor of the Stochastic Models area of the journal Operations Research. Kumar co-developed a popular and oft-used factory simulator for teaching operations management. The simulator, “Littlefield Technologies,” which is used in universities around the country, won the Wickham Skinner Award for Teaching Innovation.—M.S.

Last Updated 9/16/11