by Patricia Houlihan and Allan Friedman
Published: June 7, 2008

Sanjay Dhar and Jean-Pierre Dube

Images by Dan Dry and Beth Rooney

GSB Takes Top Marketing Award

Sanjay Dhar, James H. Lorie Professor of Marketing, and Jean-Pierre Dubé, professor of marketing and Neubauer Family Faculty Fellow, won the 2008 Paul E. Green Award, which recognizes the best article in the Journal of Marketing Research during the previous year.

Dhar and Dubé were honored for their study, “Consumer Packaged Goods in the United States: National Brands, Local Branding,” which documents several striking geographic patterns in the performance of national brands using a large scanner database spanning many consumer packaged goods categories and U.S. regional markets.

Across markets, the geographic variation in market shares, indices of brand quality perceptions, and the identity of local brand-share leaders is so significant that it calls into question the concept and relevance of a “national brand,” Dhar and Dubé found in their research. Bart Bronnenberg of Tilburg University in the Netherlands was a coauthor of the study.

Sufi Wins Brattle Prize

Assistant professor of finance Amir Sufi won the 2007 Brattle Prize for a distinguished paper published in the Journal of Finance. Sufi was honored by the American Finance Association for his paper “Information Asymmetry and Financing Arrangements: Evidence from Syndicated Loans.

Sufi is the ninth Chicago Booth faculty member to win the award since it was first given in 1999. Past recipients include Douglas Diamond, Merton H. Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance; Anil Kashyap, Edward Eagle Brown Professor of Economics and Finance; Randall Kroszner, professor of economics; Tobias Moskowitz, professor of finance and Neubauer Family Faculty Fellow; Raghuram Rajan, Eric J. Gleacher Distinguished Service Professor of Finance; Joshua Rauh, assistant professor of finance; Per Stromberg, adjunct associate professor of finance; and Luigi Zingales, Robert C. McCormack Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance.

Kaplan Honored for VC Efforts

Steven Kaplan, Neubauer Family Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance, received the Richard J. Daley Medal from the Illinois Venture Capital Association last December.

Given in honor of the late Chicago mayor, the award “recognizes a single individual who has given direct and extraordinary support to the Illinois economy through private equity funding,” according to the association.

“Steve’s research into venture capital and private equity has focused attention on Illinois as an important center of VC and PE activity,” said Maura O’Hara, executive director of the Illinois Venture Capital Association.

In 1997, Kaplan helped students start the New Venture Challenge, an annual business plan competition that has since helped launch more than 40 companies that have raised more than $100 million in funding. (To read about how the New Venture Challenge is expanding, see “The New Venture Challenge Goes Global.") Several of Kaplan’s former students work in many of Chicago’s top private equity firms.

Kaplan, faculty director of the Michael P. Polsky Center for Entrepreneurship at Chicago Booth, is also academic co-dean of the Kauffman Fellows Program, which educates and trains emerging leaders in venture capital and high-growth companies.


Last Updated 5/14/09