Site Description Booth Link
Header Logo sans Ad Space

Booth Rocks Annual Battle of the Bands Showdown

By Danielle Novy '14  |  may, 2013, Issue 2
News Temp Placeholder Image

The Trust Funks performing.


Booth's musical talent was under the spotlight the evening of May 21 when three rock bands comprising first- and second-year Booth students took the stage at the classic Chicago rock venue Metro for the school's annual Battle of the Bands showdown.

Booth's bands, The Trust Funks, Guns N Butter and Guitarbitrage, faced off against of a trio of bands from the Kellogg School of Management, Special K, Captains of Industry and Rocket Pockets, to a nearly full concert hall. A measurement of audience applause was used to select the event's winner, and Kellogg's Rocket Pockets, the final band to perform, took home the first-place finish.

Ankur Raniwala, Booth Class of 2014, played saxophone for the evening's first band, The Trust Funks, and said the experience was one-of-a-kind.

"Battle of the Bands was unlike any performance I have ever done," he said after the show. "It's a completely different feel when you look into a crowd that large and recognize so many faces. The fact that I was able to connect with so many people at Booth in such a short period of time – I'm still taken aback by it."

The event was largely organized by AudioBooth, led by Kristin Sun, who also sang vocals for Guitarbitrage. AudioBooth Co-Chair Taimur Awan said he was thrilled with the way the evening turned out.

"I think it was amazing," he said after the event. "From what I understand, some people said it was the best event of the year."

Awan added that his only regret was that one Booth band did not get to play deeper in the evening to a packed venue as they had to take the stage at 7:30 p.m. as students were still arriving.

"It just would have been nice for The Trust Funks to play later because they're really good," he said.


Mason Chapple

Frank Dreher

Rish Khara

Ed Nakayama

Matt Savage

Kristin Sun

Guns N Butter:

Patrick Clark

Evan Coughenour

Miriam Goldberg

Rohit Gupta

Lou Marsico

The Trust Funks:

Alex Bezdek

Nico Guillen

Bruno Mourao

Ankur Raniwala

Karen Passmore

Emilio Andrade

Last Updated 5/28/13
Last Updated 5/28/13