Site Description Booth Link
Header Logo sans Ad Space

Booth Faculty Recognition

By ChiBus Staff  |  november, 2012, Issue 2

The Booth faculty has had another successful year. As ChiBus' 2012 run ends, here is a look back on some notable items ChiBus has not covered sufficiently:

Anil Kashyap, Edward Eagle Brown Professor of Economics and Finance, was appointed to the U.S. Treasury Department's Financial Research Advisory Committee of the Office of Financial Research where he will chair the subcommittee on research

John Birge, Jerry W. and Carol Lee Levin Professor of Operations Management; Donald Eisenstein, professor of operations management; and Linus Schrage, professor emeritus won awards from the Institute for Operations Research and Management Sciences at its annual meeting in October

Raghuram Rajan, Eric J. Gleacher Distinguished Service Professor of Finance, accepted a position as Chief Economic Adviser to the Indian government. He previously served in an honorary position.

Lubos Pastor, Charles P. McQuaid Professor of Finance, won the first Whitebox Advisors prize for financial research for his paper titled "Are Stocks Really Less Volatile in the Long Run?"

Bryan Kelly, Assistant Professor of Finance, won the first AQR Insight Award for unpublished research for his paper "Market Expectations in the Cross Section of Present Values."

Christian Leuz, Joseph Sondheimer Professor of International Economics, Finance and Accounting won a Humboldt Research Award, given in recognition of his career work to date.

Richard Thaler, Ralph and Dorothy Keller Distinguished Service Professor of Behavioral Science and Economics, won the 2012 Nicholas Molodovsky Award from the CFA Institute awarded "to individuals who have made outstanding contributions that change the direction of the profession and raise it to higher standards of accomplishment."

Marianne Bertrand, Chris P. Dialynas Professor of Economics; and Luigi Zingales, Robert C. McCormack Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance, were elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Election is seen as one of the highest honors bestowed upon American intellectuals.

John Cochrane, AQR Capital Management Distinguished Service Professor of Finance, was named a Guggenheim Fellow, which comes with a grant to pursue research of the fellow's choosing

Last Updated 11/27/12
Last Updated 11/27/12