Site Description Booth Link
Header Logo sans Ad Space
December 2, 2013

Booth Soccer ‘Warriors’ Compete in UCLA Anderson Soccer Cup

By Wei Hao Cho '14  |  december, 2013, Issue 1
News Temp Placeholder Image

The Booth Soccer Club


Over the weekend of Nov. 16, 32 of your classmates represented Booth to compete in the 12th Annual UCLA Anderson Soccer Cup. Everyone arrived at Los Angeles in high spirits, greeted by the beautiful beaches and much-needed sunshine. Donning the maroon Booth gear and a strong sense of Booth pride, the players strutted around Santa Monica Boulevard.

We kicked-off bright and early on Saturday morning and played a total of six games over two days – it was a brutal ride of fun, sweat, blood (read: broken rib, chipped tooth, bruised cheek) and regrettably, tears. Luis Nanes '14 noted, "Either we heal now as a team, or we will die as individuals!" Out of the 15 MBA teams that competed, Booth emerged second, narrowly losing out in the Finals on penalty kicks.

It is the best ever finish by the Booth Soccer Club, and we would like to congratulate our warriors, and thank the Booth community for your support! At the final whistle, as men and woman alike were overwhelmed with emotions, there was no blame game or negativity – only encouragement and high fives. Perhaps more important than bringing back the cup was the friendship and sportsmanship formed over the awesome weekend.

According to Alan Jowett '14: "Los Angeles was a blast. It was great to be a part of this group – you could really feel the team spirit on the field and off of it. I can't wait to play again with these guys, and am looking forward to Austin."

In the immortal words of Rocky Balboa, "The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows... It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward." We'll be back in Feb. 2014 when we fight in the next tournament in Austin, Texas!

Go Booth!

Full results

First round:

vs. UCLA 2-0

vs. Stanford 2-1

vs. Haas 0-1


vs. USC 3-0


vs. Ross 2-0


vs. UCLA 0-0 (lost in PKs)

Team: Marcelo Fagalde, Luis Nanes, Mauricio Perez Benitez, Wei Hao Cho, Francisco Cinto, Conrad Goldstein, Andres Marquez Boy, Paul Fung, Alan Jowett, Josh McConnell, Madelyn Grunewald, Julian Gil, Alejandro Sanhueza, Jerrel Brantley, Juan Jose Varela, Santiago Zabalza, Fernando Germana, Marcos Vivacqua, Charles Rossetti, Chad Strader, Nicolas Robles, Timothy Richards, Pedro Richards, Tomas Guevara, Matias Chomali, Hernan Gomez Cisternas, Tomas Delano, Pablo Atencio, Santiago Ferrari, Borja Baeta, Ahmad Elayat and Ignacio Vinke.

Last Updated 12/1/13
Last Updated 12/1/13