Alumni

CFO Deal Talk: Regulation and Acquisition with Joe Moran, '85, and Vasant Prabhu, '83

Chicago Booth Alumni Club of San Francisco

August 6, 2020: 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM

5:30 pm PDT | 7:30 pm CDT | 1:30 am BST | 8:30 am HKT

Join CFO Joe Moran, '85 and EVP, CFO, and Vice Chairman of VISA, Vasant Prabhu, '83 discussing the intense regulatory process around acquisition. 

Where

Online Webinar
San Francisco, California

Event Details

Vasant will provide insights as he moderates a conversation with Joe detailing the challenges of the highly regulated Google acquisition of Looker for $2.6B in February of 2020. 

Cost

No Charge

Registration

Register Online

Zoom details provided upon registration

Deadline: 8/6/2020

Speaker Profiles

Joe Moran (Speaker) '85
Chief Financial Officer, KeepTruckin
https://keeptruckin.com/company

Joe leads the finance, accounting, and IT functions at KeepTruckin. Prior to KeepTruckin, he was CFO at Looker which was acquired by Google for $2.6B in 2019. In his six-year stint, Joe helped grow Looker from less than $1M ARR to over $160M ARR. Joe has worked as CFO at several venture-backed technology companies over the last 20 years, bringing one public and two to the S1 process, which eventually led to acquisitions. Joe holds an MBA in finance from the University of Chicago and a BA in Economics from UC Berkeley.

Vasant Prabhu (Speaker) '83
Executive Vice President, CFO, and Vice Chairman, Visa, Inc.
https://visa.com

Vasant joined Visa in February 2015 as the Chief Financial Officer. Prior to joining Visa, he was the Chief Financial Officer for NBC Universal, where he oversaw the company's financial planning and operations and played a key role in NBC Universal's strategic business initiatives. Additionally, Vasant managed the Operations and Technical Services division, which included NBC Universal's technical operations, physical plant, corporate services and information technology functions. Prior to NBC Universal, Vasant was the Vice Chairman and Chief Financial Officer for Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Inc., from 2004 – 2014; and Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and President, E-Commerce for Safeway, Inc., the $35 billion supermarket retailer, from 2000 - 2004. He was President of the Information and Media Group, The McGraw-Hill Companies, where he led a $1 billion division comprising Business Week, Broadcast television stations and Business Information Services. From 1992-1998, Vasant held senior positions at PepsiCo, including Senior Vice President of Finance & Chief Financial Officer, PepsiCola International. Vasant started his career at Booz, Allen & Hamilton, the management consulting firm, where he rose to become a Partner serving Media and Consumer companies. Vasant is a member of the Board of Directors of Mattel, Inc. He received his M.B.A. from the University of Chicago and a B.S. in Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology.

Questions

Ajay Manglani, '13