Becker Posner Luncheon: The Financial Crisis of 2008 - The Banking Industry

Chicago Booth Alumni Club of Chicago

March 3, 2010: 12:00 PM - 1:15 PM

The March discussion will focus on the banking industry and the differences between the individual banks. What differentiates banks like Citi & BOA from banks such as Goldman Sachs and JP Morgan Chase? Is it the risk culture? The top management? Incentives ? What about the 'too big to fail' banks? Do they enjoy any advantages?


CharterMast Partners
Will be provided to registrants
11 S. Lasalle
Chicago, Illinois

Event Details

Join fellow Booth Alumni for a highly interactive lunch discussion of current issues in economics, finance, and public policy, based on the weekly online commentary published by Professors Gary Becker and Richard Posner on their blog at ( Come discuss these and other aspects of the banking industry with fellow Alumni at the March 3rd luncheon. We recommend that you review one or more of the readings below(links to the readings are provided on the registration page. Click on register online to see the actual links). •A Matter of Principle - Why Some Banks Did Much Better Than Others •Good and Boring •The Cost of Saving These Whales •Glass-Steagall Act The meeting format is based on our highly-successful Friday morning strategic management discussions where participants are invited to read a short selection of readings and then contribute to a one-hour facilitated discussion on the selected topic. Registration for these Chicago loop (LaSalle Street) discussions is limited to twenty people so that everyone has ample opportunity to participate in the conversation. The registration fee includes a box lunch. Note: These meetings operate much like a book club and will not feature scheduled speakers. We are discussing WRITTEN COMMENTARY by professors Becker and Posner. They will not be physically present at these sessions, and have neither endorsed nor discouraged these meetings.


$15(members) and $20(non-members)


Register Online

Deadline: 3/1/2010


Vivek Prabhu