Press Releases

Booth in the News
Press Releases
Media Source Guide
Media Contacts

Hoyt Bleakley Honored by American Economic Association

April 18, 2011

Hoyt Bleakley, an associate professor of economics at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, has become the first recipient of the best paper prize given by the American Economic Association for research published in the American Economic Journal: Applied Economics.

Bleakley was honored for his research "Malaria Eradication in the Americas: A Retrospective Analysis of Childhood Exposure," published April 2010. The study found that in areas of Latin America where malaria was widespread, people born after malaria-eradication campaigns in the 1950’s earned 25 percent more than the previous generation. In the U.S., earnings rose 12 percent for the post-malaria generation, his research showed.

Bleakley studies a wide variety of economic issues spanning economic development, human capital and economic history. His research also includes "Age at Arrival, English Proficiency, and Social Assimilation Among U.S. Immigrants," (with Aimee Chin) published in the American Economic Journal: Applied, January 2010. His current work includes serving as senior investigator for "Early Indicators of Later Work Levels, Disease and Death," a project funded by the National Institute on Aging and directed by Professor Robert Fogel from Chicago Booth.

Bleakley joined the Booth faculty in 2005 and teaches courses in microeconomics to M.B.A. students. Earlier he was an assistant professor of economics at the University of California, San Diego and a visiting fellow at the Center for U.S./Mexican Studies.

He studied at Massachusetts Institute of Technology where he received a Ph.D. and S.B. both in economics.

The American Economic Association recently established the annual American Economic Journal "Best Paper Prize," which highlights the best paper published in each of the American Economic Journals: Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics over the past three years. Nominations were provided by AEA members, and winners were selected by the editors, co-editors, and associate editors at each AEJ publication.