Dan Adelman

Robert Z. Aliber

Patrick Baumann

Gary S. Becker

Marianne Bertrand

Christian Broda

Ronald S. Burt

Agustín Carstens

Timothy Chen, '91

Pradeep K. Chintagunta

John H. Cochrane

Christopher L. Culp

Harry L. Davis

Francisco Gil Díaz

Nicholas Epley

Eugene F. Fama, '64

Ayelet Fishbach

Robert H. Gertner

Michael Gibbs

Austan D. Goolsbee

Paul Hersey, '56

Mark Hoplamazian, '89

Chris Hsee

John Huizinga

Erik Hurst

Steven Kaplan

Anil Kashyap

Lim Hng Kiang

James M. Kilts

Randall S. Kroszner

Justin Yifu Lin, PhD '86

Puneet Manchanda

Howard Marks, '69

Scott F. Meadow

Tanya Menon

Tobias J. Moskowitz

Kevin M. Murphy

Jaime Chico Pardo, '74

Canice Prendergast

Raghuram G. Rajan

Haresh Sapra

James Schrager

George P. Shultz

Abbie J. Smith

Edward A. Snyder

Richard H. Thaler

Robert H. Topel

Li Yuanwei

Luigi Zingales

Marvin Zonis

Canice PrendergastCanice Prendergast

W. Allen Wallis Professor of Economics, Chicago Booth

Cities: Amsterdam, Geneva, London

Canice John Prendergast is the author of "The Limits of Bureaucratic Efficiency" published in the Journal of Political Economy in 2003 and "The Tenuous Trade-Off Between Risk and Incentives" that appeared in the Journal of Political Economy in 2002. Prendergast is widely published, with work appearing in the Economic Journal, the Journal of Labor Economics, the American Economic Review, the Journal of the Japanese and International Economics, and the European Economic Review. Articles on his recent research have appeared in Fortune Magazine, the Financial Times, the Economist, and Der Spiegel.

He joined the Chicago Booth faculty in 1990. Prior to that, he was an Open Prize Research Fellow at Nuffield College in Oxford, a lecturer at Jesus College in Oxford, and a research assistant at the Economic and Social Research Institute in Dublin.

Prendergast has worked as the editor of the Journal of Political Economy and the Journal of Labor Economics. In addition to being a 1995 Ladany Scholar at Chicago Booth, he is the recipient of two National Science Foundation Awards. He is also an elected faculty research fellow of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

He attended Trinity College in Dublin where he received a bachelor's degree in economics in 1983. In 1986, he graduated from the London School of Economics with a master's degree in economics, followed by a PhD in economics from Yale University in 1989.

(back to top)


Last Updated 10/20/15