close window Close Window

Chat with Current Students

February 5, 2009—11:00 AM-12:00 PM CST

Kurt: Hello Everyone, and welcome to our chat! Thanks for joining us. Feel free to start submitting your questions. We'll begin the chat right at 11:100am CST.

Rose: Welcome to our monthly Booth chat. We are open to any and all types of questions. Let's get started. Rose

Stefan: Hi, my name is Stefan, and I am a first year MBA student concentrating in Analytic Finance. Before Chicago Booth I worked in the Insurance Industry in France. This summer I will intern in Sales and Trading in London. At Chicago Booth I am a member of the European Business Group, Investment Banking Group, The Wine Club, and Risk and Gaming Club.

Kurt: Thanks for joining us today and I look forward to answering your questions.

chaks5: Hi, is there any update on the international student loan scenario? i see in your website that you are in talks with some banks..

Rose: As I mentioned on my blog, we are in the midst of negotiating terms with a couple of vendors. We are meeting on a regular basis and hope to be able to announce the new programs in the next few months. Thanks for your patience. I can say with confidence that we will definitely have a loan program for our international students who do not have a cosigner.

steps_mba: Hi, could you please elaborate something about scholarships (are they still available in round2) and loans? Thank you.

Kurt: Scholarships are available for second round admitted students. Loans are also available. For more specifics, you can refer to Rose's answer above.

steps_mba: Hi Rose, I had my interview last week have a couple of questions: A) is round2 more competitive than round1? B) approximately, what is the fraction of applicants who are invited for an interview, and what is the fraction of interviewed applicants who are finally admitted?