close window Close Window

Chat with the Office of Diversity Affairs and Career Services

June 4, 2007— TIME 9:00-10:00AM CDT

Melissa: Welcome to the Office of Diversity Affairs and Career Services chat! The chat is now in session. Our speakers are standing by for your questions. Please feel free to ask your questions now.

Amber: I am a first year student who will be interning with Bear Stearns within their corporate finance group. Last summer I attend Merrill Lynch Associates Day, Goldman Sachs Boot Camp, and MBA Jump Start.

Alandrea: Hello! My name is Alandrea. I am a first year student from Southern California concentrating in Finance, Accounting and Entrepreneurship. I will be working in Investment Banking this summer. Prior to school, I was a Health Care Service Administrator. Welcome!

Jose: Hi! This is Jose Luz Frausto, Associate Director of Diversity Affairs. I look forward to working with you closely this fall.

Jessica: Hello and welcome! I'm Jessica Pounds-Bryant, Director of the Office of Diversity Affairs. I'm sitting here with Char Bennington, Senior Associate Director of Career Services. We're looking forward "chatting" with you and seeing you in the fall.

Chris: Hello! I am a first year (soon to be second after finals) here at the GSB. I will be doing consulting at Booz Allen Hamilton in Dallas, TX this summer and I am here to answer any questions you may have.

ChicagoGal: How did you go about preparing for the summer camps?

Alandrea: I made sure I did my homework on the firm that I was attending. It was important to be able to talk about the firm on some level. You don’t have to know everything, but it helps to have a few talking points. Also, I took some time to work on my resume through the Career Services website. I wanted to make sure I was prepared to hand it out if someone asked for it.

Shonna: I was offered a scholarship/fellowship from one of the banks. What are the pros and cons to accepting these scholarships?