close window Close Window

Chat with the Dean

March 14, 2007—9:00-10:00AM CDT

Topic: Dean Ted Snyder; Chris Iannuccilli, Executive Director of Marketing, and second-year GSB students Lindsay and Demetrios field questions about the direction of the GSB, the power of the brand and new initiatives underway.

Melissa: Welcome! The chat will begin at 9:00 am CDT. Please feel free to begin submitting your questions now.

ChrisI:: Good morning. This is Chris Iannuccilli, Executive Director of Marketing for the GSB, and I'm happy to be here.

Lindsay: Good morning everyone! I'm a second year, concentrating in marketing and entrepreneurship. I spent my summer internship in Product Development at Brunswick, and I'm headed to American Express in NYC after graduation.

Demetrios: Good morning. My name is Demetrios. I am a second year student. I spent my summer internship with a private equity firm. I am looking forward to answering your questions.

DeanSnyder: Good morning everyone! I'm Ted Snyder. I'm delighted to join the chat.

Charlotte: In what ways does the GSB try to integrate or bring together the curriculum among separate courses?

DeanSnyder: The integration comes from a common approach -- the Chicago approach to Management Education -- as opposed to a "behind the curtain" effort by faculty to orchestrate particulars. The Chicago values are the unifier behind the flexible curriculum. So whatever you end up selecting as your curriculum, you'll end up experiencing a common feel -- challenge, leveraging what we call discipline-based knowledge, as well as empirical knowledge.

lho: Also, how hard is it for someone from a liberal arts background (i.e. non-quant) to succeed in quant classes at chicago?