close window Close Window

Chat: Marketing at the GSB

March 9, 2006—10:45-11:30AM CDT

Topic: We welcome Sanjay Dhar, Professor of Marketing at Chicago GSB, alumna Ann Mukherjee, a Vice President with the Quaker Oats Company, and current GSB students Jit, Jamie, and Todd.

KristenP: Thank you for joining us! We will be starting in five minutes. Feel free to start posting your questions!

Jit: Hi everyone, I'm a second year student with intended concentrations in Analytic Finance and Strategic Management and will be moving into Investment Management post-MBA. I took a Marketing Strategy class with Prof. Dhar and it was a great learning experience that will provide me an understanding of the marketing strategies of companies I will be analyzing in the course of my work.

ProfDhar: Hi everyone, I have been a professor in Marketing at the GSB for the last years. I teach Marketing Strategy in the full-time, evening and weekend MBA programs and Marketing Strategy and Advanced Marketing Strategy in the exec-MBA programs in London and Singapore.

Todd: Hi! I am Todd Applebaum, a 2nd year student and a co-chair of the GSB Marketing Group.

Ann: Hi, my name is Ann Mukherjee. Thanks for joining the discussion today. I graduated from the GSB in 1994 and also attend U of C undergrad, graduated in 1987. Prior to joining the GSB, I worked in the non-profit sector raising funds for university operating and endowment funds. After joining the GSB, I did a marketing internship with Citicorp Diners Club. At the end of the internship, I joined full time as Manager of New Products and finished my MBA part-time. Upon completing my MBA, I joined Kraft Foods and had a classical brand management experience working on classical brands like Mac 'N Cheese, Kraft Singles, Stove Top Stuffing, DiGiorno, Velveeta. After 11 years with the company, I moved to PepsiCo as Vice-President of Marketing for Quaker Snacks.